Reading Instruction Competence Assessment (RICA)

Subject: Teaching

The Reading Instruction Competence Assessment, or RICA, is a test required for two groups of California teaching credential candidates: those seeking a clear Multiple Subjects credential to teach elementary school and those seeking an Education Specialist credential, which is required to teach special education classes.

The set of teacher knowledge and skills described in the RICA Content Specifications and reflected in the RICA is organized into the following five domains:

Domain 1: Planning, Organizing, and Managing Reading Instruction Based on Ongoing Assessment
Domain 2: Word Analysis
Domain 3: Fluency
Domain 4: Vocabulary, Academic Language, and Background Knowledge
Domain 5: Comprehension